top of page
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Dorris

Transform Your Trashy Teacher Resume

Updated: Mar 30, 2023

You do so much in your classroom each day - and your future employer needs to know about every last thing! Right? No.


In fact, your future employer could care less about what you do in your day to day. What will pique their interest is how you made a difference to your organization and your team - and that's what you need to highlight.

So for your benefit - we are going to RIP apart all the mistakes I made on my resume. When we're done - you will see why NO ONE called me for an interview. Seriously - NO ONE. I applied to over 300 positions with this resume. I'm almost embarrassed I sent it out like this!

Know better - do better.








 

Ok - so now let's look at the BETTER resume - the one that got me hired. And I know it's not perfect - and someone could probably make it better. But it did the job and got me 5 interviews in 3 months. 2 of which I turned down, one ghosted me, one I didn't get, and one I did. And the one I did is all that matters. All the other interviews helped to prepare me for the one I got, and ultimately ended up being a better job than I could have ever hoped for.




I also worked really hard on my cover letter. I know not every employer reads them, but for those that did, I wanted to make an impression,



I hope this can be helpful to you in your job search! Feel free to borrow any verbiage that is true to you and your skills. I know sometimes it can be hard to phrase things in a way that sounds dynamic. It took me months to get this cover letter to this point and I think it made the difference in some of my interviews.


Good luck!


Stay tuned - I am going to be posting some interview do's and dont's in the coming weeks.


1,908 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page