top of page
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Dorris

Wordsmithing 101



I once told someone that you don't have to be a wordsmith to write a winning resume. I've changed my mind.


The better you can use words to describe yourself, the better your resume will be.


So what is wordsmithing?


In my opinion, it's pulling out all the stops to find the absolutely best words, and the best arrangement of those words to make your point in a clear, concise manner. Basically, its precision of language.


Most of the online dictionaries uphold that idea with the common definition being: one who works with words, a prolific writer.


You don't really need to be a walking dictionary to be a wordsmith.


All you really need is a strong desire to get a whole lot of meaning in as few words as possible. Oh, and Google.


Why does it matter?


I suppose to a lot of people it doesn't, in fact they probably can't even tell that you spent hours trying to find the perfect word to explain your passion for collecting old coins. But that's kind of the point, isn't it? We often notice when someone hasn't invested enough time in their efforts because they come off half-assed and sloppy.


Is that the impression you want to give people about you?


If you're not going to take the time to ensure your resume says exactly what you need it to say about you, then your heart probably isn't in the right place and you're probably not going to get the job you want, but you'll definitely get the one you deserve. Good luck either way.


I like examples.

Let's start with a professional summary.

A lot of people ask me if it's necessary and my answer is always "No, but not having one is a missed opportunity."


A well-written summary is your first opportunity to put attention where you want it. Think of it as a v-neck for your resume.


Take a minute to read the opening line of some of your favorite novels. I'm willing to bet when you re-read that first line you will find a whole lot of buried meaning in it, especially now that you know how the story ends. Good writers know how to prime their audience.


That's your job with your summary. Pick three or four of your best skills. What are the things that people come to you for because you are the best person at it? What are the things people are always amazed by when they talk to you or spend time in your space?


For me it was organization.


So that should be something included in my summary IF it's the best and most applicable skill for the role to which I am applying, or if I don't have anything better.


Let's build out the whole list of my skills:


organized articulate (as in communication, not Storyline)

problem solver technologically savvy

action oriented inclusive

efficient servant leadership

hard working ambitious

high achieving optimistic


Now that I have some of my best skills listed I can choose which ones I want to include in my summary.


Here's how I would choose based on a role:

Instructional Designer: efficient, problem solver, hard-working

Curriculum Writer: articulate, technologically savvy, efficient

Training: inclusive, articulate, organized, problem solver


See? I don't just pick skills willy nilly. I choose ones that I think will be most appreciated in that role.


Now comes the wordsmithing.


Draft 1: Highly efficient problem solver who is willing to put in the extra effort to meet project objectives and deadlines.


Many people would stop here. But when I read it again I start thinking the phrase "who is willing to put in the extra effort to meet project objectives" is a lot of words without really saying anything.


What is it that I am really trying to say? I want to show that the reason my teams are successful is because I take the time to make sure there is a clear plan in place and everyone knows their role in executing that plan.


Draft 2: Consistently meets or exceeds project timelines by streamlining processes to eliminate redundancy and increase the impact of each team member's contributions.


This version explains HOW I use efficiency to impact the organization and my team. It says that I do this consistently - not once in a while, or as needed.


See? I didn't move mountains, and I barely broke a sweat. Most people may say that there really isn't a difference between the first draft and the second.


Which one would keep you reading?


In a Nutshell:

Take the time to read and wordsmith what you've written on your resume.


Constantly ask yourself "Is this the best way to say this?"


Evaluate EVERYTHING on your resume based on the role you are applying for. If it doesn't have anything to do with that role, get rid of it.


143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page